According to Locus, Coraline is up for a Nebula for best novella; awards are to be announced in April.

Also, Wolves in the Walls is up for Best Short Fiction at the 2004 British Science Fiction Association Awards, also to be announced in April.

For those of you trying to keep track of what books have been nominated and/or won which prizes, Neil’s entry into the Locus Index to SF Awards is:


Ain’t It Cool posted a fan’s report on Dave McKean’s press conference at the Clermont Ferrand Short Film Festival and what he gathered from talking to him afterwards; it features much discussion about MirrorMask. With thanks to both Reg and Steve for waking me up with that.


From Comic Book Resources:

NEW YORK, February 10, 2004 – The Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art today announced that author Neil Gaiman (1602, American Gods, Coraline, The Sandman) will be the keynote speaker for the 17th Annual HARVEY AWARDS Banquet to be held June 26 in New York City.

“There’s always been something very special about the Harveys,” Gaiman recalls. “I remember how thrilled I was, first to be nominated in 1991, and then, a year later, to win my first Harvey Award: partly because it really is the professionals’ award, and partly because it’s named after Harvey Kurtzman.”

“I’m very much looking forward to the event, and hope that I can think of something sensible yet entertaining to say in my keynote speech,” says Gaiman. “Failing that I have until June 26th to learn how to make balloon animals.”

Gaiman has twice earned a HARVEY AWARD as the year’s Best Writer for his work on The Sandman comics series for DC Comics’ Vertigo imprint. Gaiman’s work in comics during the past year includes Endless Nights, the latest Sandman graphic novel, as well as the comics series 1602 for Marvel Comics’ Marvel Knights imprint.

Named in honor of the late Harvey Kurtzman, the HARVEY AWARDS are one of the comics industry’s oldest and most respected awards for recognizing outstanding work in comics and sequential art. Each year, nominees and winners of the HARVEY AWARDS are selected exclusively by comics creators รข€“ those who write, draw, ink, letter, color, design, edit or are otherwise involved in a creative capacity in the sequential art field. Nominations for this year’s HARVEY AWARDS (for works published between January 1, 2003 and December 31, 2003) will be accepted up until midnight Friday, February 13, with Final Ballots to be distributed to all qualifying professionals in early Spring.

“We are all delighted and thrilled that Neil Gaiman has agreed to be this year’s keynote speaker,” says MoCCA Trustee and HARVEY AWARDS Committee Chairwoman Nellie Kurtzman. “I’m sure Neil will do a terrific job since — as a past Harvey Awards nominee and winner himself he knows just how special it is to have one’s work recognized and honored in this way by fellow comics industry professionals.”

Winners of this year’s HARVEY AWARDS will be announced on the night of June 26 during a banquet to be held at the historic Puck Building in downtown New York City as part of the Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art’s Third Annual MoCCA Art Festival weekend.

Sponsor-level Tickets for seats at this gala affair are now available, with Individual Tickets to go on sale in the Spring. For reservations or more information about this and other museum events, visit the MoCCA Website or call the museum at 212-254-3511. Visit for more information specifically about the HARVEY AWARDS.